For the Argument’s Sake

Keep me, Lord,

while I argue.

It’s hard to argue with Tradition

about the meaning of Scripture,

especially since the Scripture is

a faithful argument about how

to be

 

faithful to such an amazing and uncontrollable

God, heard in

the mirror-darkness  of hearts

with such puny powers

of recognition.

Keep me, Lord,

while I argue;

 

while you unbind me and let me go

to join your people

after stinking for four days,

remind me whose slave I am,

and teach me to seek always

for the Way of Life stretched out

for us–cruciform and deadly–

in and as Jesus:

the Argument made

by your infinite

and persuasive Love.

Keep me, Lord,

while I argue,

and let the Argument have me entirely.

For the Argument’s sake,

Amen.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Scripture as Generous Space? | theologywriter

Leave a Reply

