Heart, or About Desires. A poem.

Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.

I sure hope, Lord,
that you find I delight in you:
because when the waves come crashing in,
when I feel negligent, insensitive, unfaithful,

it usually takes me by surprise,
especially if I’ve been trying to listen.

At times like these,
I don’t know who I am,
except to launch myself backward
into your mercy,
with questions

ringing: “And underneath are the everlasting arms?”

Some days, I feel so bent on myself
that I would rather you rip out my core, painlessly–
integrate new hardware
and upload new desires.

Yet you are Incarnate:
you say you replace the metal gears that grind against themselves,
going nowhere,
with a heart of flesh.

Ah! Lord,
that’s what it is–
would you give me a heart,
and then (meanwhile) we can talk

about desires?

Leave a Reply

