My Life is Good: a shrove tuesday reflection

My life is good.
Not perfect,

not even ‘abundant’ in the way I would like it to be
(especially when sneaky anxiousness underwrites a lot of my days),

but good.
I am poor, but not destitute.
I am often alone, but never friendless.

It is difficult for me to say “I’m unhappy,” sometimes,
but joy often feels easy–just settle me down and ask me about Jesus!

I have a home,
and books (o, I have books!),
and simple food,
and friends who pay for meals without me asking.

My life is good.
Not perfect,

not fully-settled-in-my-skin just yet
(especially when I ask so many questions about faith, sex, why the world is as it is),

but good.
I want to learn who I am with and from God.
I want to strip away the things that don’t really belong to me.

It is difficult to know what those are, sometimes,
but I will not fear–just settle me down with the People and tell me about Jesus.

I have Community,
and the Book,
and a Simple Feast,
and friends who love me without me asking.

My life is hidden with Christ in God.

My life is good.

Leave a Reply

