THE IMAGE OF GOD.

Over the last three days,
I have spent a lot of time in conversation with friends:
over a meal,
sipping cup of tea or hot chocolate,
or even cuddled on a couch watching
Star Trek: The Next Generation.

It often strikes me:

how remarkable are we,
this race called human,
struggling to be kind,
to survive–
and yet we are deeply loved.

Recently, friends have commented
that I surround myself with beauty.
I take it as, I hope, a radical compliment.

Not only do I love how my friends make me feel
(People can be so pretty!),

but I am grateful for the remarkable gift
of sitting across from,
being-surrounded-by,
even embracing
The IMAGE OF GOD.

Though some of my friends would decline
this language,
their gazes and smiles,
hugs and tears sing better than they know,

and I remember:
I am, too.

Leave a Reply

