On blogging as a spiritual practice.

As an Anglican Christian with pentecostal roots, I have been introduced to Lent as part of the cycle of the Church Year. It is a period of 40 days meant to assist Christians in amendment of life and intentionally making space for a deeper experience of Christ and his good news. This year, I “gave up” drinking (soda) pop, but also added the practice of blogging every day. So far, I’ve “missed” two days of writing, but I feel I have been learning a lot.

The subtitle of this blog is “experiments in faithful Christian formation.” I think three things have been growing on me about blogging as a spiritual practice. First, it is a relief to feel that writing everyday is a relief. There are so many times when I would start a project like this and quickly lose steam. It seems to me (I say with deep gratitude) that I was ready to try something like this in a way that I haven’t been before. Second, I don’t need to say something brilliant or profound. Remembering this has helped me to avoid writer’s block. Third, “prompted” writing and “inspired” writing are both powerful–I learned this rubric from a new friend. Sometimes the ideas just flow–I am reacting, in a way, to something new in my experience. But “prompted” writing–like responding to the upcoming lectionary readings, helps feed the discipline of writing without the self-imposed burden of re-inventing the wheel every morning.

Mostly I am just grateful. I have the opportunity to see my writing hitting people at odd angles, moving them, provoking them. And I am astonished that words can be so powerful (even though, as I writer, I count on that power). Sometimes thoughts that seem simple are the most powerful, and sometimes I hope that something I’ve put deep soul into resonates as much for others as it does for me. I often sense that words have power beyond anything I could expect. And in that beyond, I often sense the surprising flight of the Holy Spirit.

That’s just like her: my Little Sister teaching me to be like my Big Brother. Who knew blogging could be good for that? I had a suspicion, but…

Leave a Reply

