But I don’t feel anything…

1. I have a good friend,
a fiery and earthy poet and activist,

who wondered aloud among friends
if there was something wrong with him

because the Feast of the Resurrection
doesn’t move him as it does others.

…but I don’t feel anything…

He reads his Bible, and he prays,
and that’s it.

2. Sometimes I wonder if he is a stronger Christian than I,
more disciplined in the Way of Life,
because he does the stuff,
works for justice,
tells the truth

without the holy “heebie-jeebies” that someone like me craves,
and then wonders what’s wrong when they are absent.

I wonder if, as he says, there’s an element of “performance Christianity”
in the emotion I sometimes feel in this time of year:

The Word going down to the bottom
of very thin soil. What happens
under
the
pressure?

3. But mostly I just want to say,
to him and to anyone else who says

…but I don’t feel anything…

that’s OK.

It’s possible that only God knows
what it feels like
–in the depths of Godself–
for the universe to shift on its axis.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

